HAPPY BIRTHDAY BUFFY – SLAYING VAMPIRES AND THE PATRIARCHY SINCE 1997

20 years ago this week Buffy The Vampire Slayer aired for the first time, and for many of geeky girls like me life would never be the same. For once a girl who could both save herself, and struck fear into the hearts of the enemy

 

And to be this fearsome slayer did she have to give up her femininity and masculine-it-up? No she did not

She is unashamedly super girly AND stake-wielding. AND she doesn’t feel the need to sign up to the stereotypical roles women have have been expected to perform in the past – she is far more in vampire-filled crypts than in the kitchen.

 

She slays demons, social norms and society’s expectations. She also gives damn good advice to fellow members of the sisterhood:

In celebration of Buffy’s twentieth birthday (rather than sitting around and remembering how old I now feel) I have collected a compilation of the chosen one’s best zingers – because sometimes vampires, the patriarchy, and the world in general need a lesson from the Buffy Summers School of Etiquette.

1.”I may be dead, but I’m still pretty. Which is more than I can say for you”

2.”Your mouth is open, sound is coming from it, this is never good”

3.”Let me answer that question with a head-butt”

4.”I see one more display of testosterone-poisoning, and I will personally put you both in the hospital”

5.”The only chance you had with me was when I was unconcious”

6.”You’re THAT amped about hell? Go there!”

7.”But what else could I expect from a bunch of low-rent, no-account hoodlums like you? Hoodlums, yes, I mean you and your friends, your whole sex. Throw ’em in the sea for all I care. Throw ’em in and wait for the bubbles. Men, with your groping and spitting. All groin, no brain. Three billion of ya’ passin’ around the same worn out urge. Men… with your sales.”

8.”I’ve had a lot of people talking at me the last few days. Everyone just lining up to tell me how unimportant I am. And I’ve finally figured out why. Power. I have it. They don’t. This bothers them”

Happy Birthday Buffy.

Leave a Reply

